top of page
  • Leah Justine T. Morales

Hair Salons and Politics


It was my most awaited time of the month. I was at the salon, getting my hair done, having some well-deserved pamper time. I was getting some rebond and Brazilian hair treatment in preparation for my graduation picture. Exciting? Yes! Closing my eyes, I let the stylist do her magic and wonders to my stressed and frizzy hair. All in all, it was perfect. The smell of chemicals surrounding the room was oddly relaxing enough for me, or so I thought.


It was supposed to be perfect when I overheard some people talking about politics. It was supposed to be a relaxing day, and politics is the exact opposite of the word ‘relax.’


The conversation went something like this:


“Sino boboto niyo?” (Who will you vote for?)


“Ay di ko alam, basta BBM ako. Wala akong pake kung magnanakaw siya, basta Marcos pa rin ako.” (I don’t know, but I support BBM. I don’t care if he’s a thief, I will still support Marcos.)


Hold on. That almost made my perfectly conditioned hair fall off.


There’s nothing wrong with having opinions and having a stand. You are entitled to have those. And it is your fundamental human right to vote. It is your right to exercise your freedom. Though, one thing that must remain is your capability to be learned and to be taught.


Let’s retake a look at the statement, shall we? Wala akong pake kung magnanakaw siya. Overlooking the act of committing plunder, stealing properties or wealth by force, would never be a minor issue, as this will adversely impact long-term economic growth and development. Hence, flexibility is vital. There shouldn’t be any form of political brainwashing or whatsoever. We do not want a status quo-type of mindset. We should continue to seek excellence, and one way to do this is through dialogue. Being open to discourse does not mean submission to the other party.


And after that, you are free to do whatever you want. Weigh people’s thoughts with yours, take your time to ponder them, and build a stance again. And repeat. Think about it like this, you are free to do whatever you want with your hair. Do you want to cut your own bangs? Final answer? Then, go!


If you think about it, it’s kind of similar to hair, don’t you think? For instance, I have naturally wavy medium-length hair. And yes, for the past few weeks, I’ve been looking at Korean Hairstyles 2021 (I even cut my bangs and failed miserably). And then that day, I decided to straighten my hair. Initially, you have this certain hairstyle, your standpoint. After looking through and searching for some hairstyles, you take the time to think about whether or not you want to change your current hairstyle. Until finally, you decide if you wish to change or not.


So, what type of hairstyle would you like to have?


Commentaires


Les commentaires ont été désactivés.
bottom of page