top of page
  • Clark M.

easy


“This isn’t easy to say.” He finally said after stuttering almost every word of his rationalization.


Jokes on him, I knew this would happen. There I was, on the other line, shaking my head with an amused smile and fully understanding. Poor guy. Thought he needed to butter me up with compliments on how I’d make a good partner. It’s comical, really, but I try my best not to laugh.


“I’m really sorry.” He added. For a moment, I had blacked out from the sudden pang of memories that was chillingly familiar. It’s like I’m talking to him all over again. God no. I open my mouth.


“Hey, you don’t need to explain. I get it. This was nice.”


I let out the tiniest sigh of relief. Honestly, I’m more mad that he didn’t start with “I’m ending this.” and wasted a good 10 minutes of my life. Ah yes, there was the mandatory “It’s not you, it’s me.” I taught him better than that. He knew I hated romcoms, their old lines even more. So we bid goodbyes, and I sincerely wished him well. I put the phone down and lay on my bed. I woke up fine the next day.


And now, onto the next “not easy” things to say.

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page